Myrtle Beach South Carolina: What to Do and Expect If You’re Arrested for a DUI
Driving under the influence (DUI) is a broad concept, and a driver has three instances to be booked for DUI in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina. The first instance is when a driver is found under the influence of alcohol while driving which can impair the ability to drive safely. The second instance is when a driver is under the influence of drugs or mixture of drugs which can impair safe driving ability. The third instance is when a driver is under the influence of alcohol and drugs causing considerable and striking impairment of a driver’s ability to drive. When it comes to DUAC (driving with unlawful alcohol concentration), it is somehow similar to DUI, only that this is considered only if the person’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is above 0.8% or more. In Myrtle Beach, if you are able to pass the sobriety tests that the law enforcer administers on the scene with a BAC of less than 0.8% then you won’t be arrested for DUI.
It is always a good idea contacting a DUI lawyer if you are arrested for DUI or DUAC. The punishment for DUAC and DUI are the same with permanent record of the charge in South Carolina. In order to avoid being convicted with a DUI or to get the lightest sentence possible, you have to ensure that a DUI lawyer is always available to help you. In South Carolina, you’ll only be convicted for a DUI if the prosecutor was able to show that you have a substantially and noticeably impairment driving ability, whereas a BAC of higher than 0.8% warrants a DUAC conviction. While the first two convictions are treated as misdemeanor, a 6-month suspension of your driver’s license and possibility of applying for ignition interlock device will be implemented. There is also a mandatory prison time, wherein a BAC between 0.8% and 0.10% have a minimum prison time of 2 days up to 30 days, 3 to 30 days for a BAC of 0.10% and 0.16%, and between 30 to 90 days for BAC above 0.16%. Depending on your BAC’s result, you can avoid prison time by doing community services, and the fines usually range from $400 to $1000. In South Carolina, you will need to have a costly car insurance on the R-22 form coming that come from the DMV if you’re arrested and convicted for DUI. The conviction will be hunting you for 10 years, influencing your subsequent DUI arrests and convictions.
You need to hire a trusted, reliable, reputable, and experienced DUI attorney such as T. Kirk Truslow P.A. to legally represent you and help you get the lightest sentence possible, and avoid conviction. Remember that the DUI is permanently marked on your record, so even if your DUI is a misdemeanor case, you have to hire an experienced DUI lawyer in Myrtle Beach to avoid future major legal problem.